Home / General / Turkey, Pakistan and Afghanistan Ink Trilateral deal on Economic and Commercial Cooperation

Turkey, Pakistan and Afghanistan Ink Trilateral deal on Economic and Commercial Cooperation

Islamabad, December 12, 2012 (PPI-OT): A Trilateral Memorandum of Understanding was signed among the governments of Turkey, Afghanistan and Pakistan to promote and facilitate trade and economic cooperation among the three countries to the mutual interest.

The MoU on economic and commercial cooperation, signed during the 7th trilateral Summit of Afghanistan, Pakistan and Turkey at Ankara today provides for the establishment of Trilateral Trade Council, which will work for promotion of foreign investment, enhancing and diversifying commercial ties and exploring possibilities for cooperation in services sectors among the three countries besides facilitating the exchange of information particularly concerning their respective legislations on trade and economic activities.

The ‘Trilateral Trade Council” aiming at capacity building would provide a useful platform for the three countries to discuss advancement of regional, bilateral and trilateral cooperation besides sharing practices on the issues of commercial and economic relations, trade -policy matters and trade facilitation among the three countries. The Trilateral Trade Council will be convened annually or when the Parties deem it necessary more often, alternately in Turkey, Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Under the framework of “Trilateral Trade Council”, the three governments have agreed to provide the necessary facilities to the businessmen of the three countries to increase trade and to resolve the issues that may emerge in this regard.

The entrepreneur and organizations of the three countries would also be encouraged to participate in exhibitions, fairs and other promotional activities as well as to promote the exchange of trade delegations and business representatives.

The Memorandum of Understanding has been initially signed for a period of one year and would be renewed automatically for successive periods of one year as per consent of the three countries.

Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar, foreign minister of Pakistan, Afghan Foreign Minister Mr. Zalmai Rassoul and Turkish Minister for communication Mr. Binali Yildirim signed the MoU on behalf of their respective governments. The three Presidents witnessed the signing of MoU at the Cankaya Presidential Palace, Ankara.

For more information, contact:
Haji Ahmed Malik
Principal Information Officer
Press Information Department (PID)
Tel: +9251 925 2323 and +9251 925 2324
Fax: +9251 925 2325 and +9251 925 2326
Email: piopid@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top