Home / Government Institutions / Supreme Court Suspends Membership of 28 Lawmakers

Supreme Court Suspends Membership of 28 Lawmakers

Islamabad: Supreme Court (SC) suspended the membership of 28 members of the Parliament, as the government fails to get 20th Amendment passed, E Pakistan News reported.

The members disqualified by the apex court are Federal Finance Minister Dr. Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources Dr. Asim Hussain, Jamshed Dasti, Owais Leghari, Khuda Bux Rajar.

The suspended lawmakers also include Asghar Ali Jutt, Akhtar Kanju, Shafqat Hyat Khan, Tasadduq Masood Khan, Sardar Mumtaz Khan, Khadija Amir Yar Malik.

A four-member SC bench headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary heard the case regarding the voter lists on the petition filed by Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan against fake electoral lists of the Election Commission of Pakistan.

Tha National Assembly would lose nine and Senate lose three members for the time being While four members from the Khyber Pakhtoonkhaw, Two from Sindh, One From Baluchistan and eight From Punjab Assembly attached by the orders.

For more information, contact:
Shahid Hussain Kamboyo
Public Relations Officer
Supreme Court of Pakistan
Tel: +9251 920 4184
Fax: +9251 920 1001
Email: pro_scp@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top