Home / General / Standing Committee on Power meets

Standing Committee on Power meets

Islamabad, March 11, 2021 (PPI-OT): The Standing Committee on Power which met under the Chairmanship of Chaudhry Salik Hussain, MNA deliberated on the Bill “The Regulation of Generation, Transmission and Distribution of Electric Power (Amendment) Bill, 2020”. The proposed amendments in the Bill were discussed in detail. The Members from the Opposition were skeptical on the definition of surcharge and said this will burden the masses and may not be cleared.

Mr. Salik Hussain added that “surcharges” should be imposed only to finance specific developmental projects of national importance, for example, the on-going Diamer Basha Dam project in AJK/GB in future (to secure our water rights under the Indus Water Treaty with India), etc. projects of strategic importance. Even if surcharge is capped at 10% of the Base Tariff, power surcharges should not be allowed to pay for future circular debt (which should be budgeted elsewhere by M/o Finance and paid for through tax revenues).

The Minister Mr. Omer Ayub Khan said that this act would enable them to invest in the infrastructure and other obligations eventually benefiting consumers as being relieved of high price of electricity with the betterment in the infrastructure and lowering of circular debt by passing of this Act. After detailed discussion The Bill was placed for voting and the Bill “The Regulation of Generation, Transmission and Distribution of Electric Power (Amendment) Bill, 2020” was cleared with an account of 5 votes from the Treasury and 4 votes from the Opposition, for further passage from the National Assembly.

2. The Committee was briefed by the Chief Executive Officer (IESCO) on the issuance of new connections in the region of IESCO, and it was told that IESCO is giving new connections to the developed area by CDA, in villages/native areas/old abadies, in private housing societies having valid NOC/LOP and in rural areas of Islamabad as declared in consumer services manual. There are certain areas which are restricted by the Court orders and CDA should be called to explain the reasons for not allowing IESCO for the new connections. The Committee decided to call CDA and ICT administration in the next scheduled meeting for resolving the issue.

3. Besides the Minister Mr. Omer Ayub Khan, the meeting was attended by MNA’s Mr. Sher Akbar Khan, Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar, Mr. Abdul Ghafar Watoo, Mr. Saif Ur Rehman, Mr. Lal Chand, Engr. Sabir Hussain Kaim Khani, Ms. Saira Bano, Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Shazia Marri, Secretaries, from M/o Power Division and Finance and senior officers of the relevant departments.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk

Scroll To Top