Home / Misc. / Standing Committee on Ports and Shipping meets

Standing Committee on Ports and Shipping meets

Islamabad, July 16, 2014 (PPI-OT): The Standing Committee on Ports and Shipping met today in the Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, MNA to consider the following agenda:-

i) Input by the Ministry of Commerce relating to the issues of Pakistan National Shipping Corporation (PNSC).

ii) Any other item with permission of the Chair.

The Chairman, Pakistan National Shipping Corporation (PNSC) with reference to ECC decisions of 22nd November, 2012 wherein PNSC proposed undertaking transportation of Cargo being imported by PSO, PSM, TCP, PASCO and other public sector organizations.

He was of the view that aforesaid public sector organizations are importing goods worth billions of US Dollar on C and F basis. For this purpose, a summary was presented in ECC. The decision of ECC was promulgated by M/o Ports and Shipping directing all Ministries/ Divisions Autonomous / Semi Autonomous bodies, in public sector to implement the decision in letter and spirit. The Committee observed that Trading Corporation of Pakistan (TCP) imports all Cargoes on C and F basis which yield no support to PNSC.

The Standing Committee on Ports and Shipping directed that in order to implement the ECC decision in true spirit by TCP, the Ministry of Commerce to issue directive to TCP to enter into long term contract of Affreightment (COA) with PNSC for all its imports and export on a market based formula. The Standing Committee was informed that the afore state meeting will take place within a month, decision of which to be presented in the next meeting of the Standing Committee.

MNAs Haji Muhammad Akram Ansari, Chaudhary Hamid Hameed, Rana Muhammad Hayat Khan, Mehar Ishtiaq Ahmad, Ms. Seema Mohiuddin Jameeli, Ms. Shaheen Shafiq, Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, Pir Muhammad Aslam Bodla, Mr. Khalil George, Mir Aamir Ali Khan Magsi, Makhdoom Muhammad Javed Hashmi, Mr. Lal Chand Malhi, Mr. Nabil Ahmed Gabol, Mr. Muhammad Salman Khan Baloch and Ch. Tariq Bashir Cheema were present in the meeting.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Parliament House, Islamabad
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top