Home / Press Information Department / Pakistan People’s Party leadership reiterates to hold elections on time

Pakistan People’s Party leadership reiterates to hold elections on time

Karachi, January 09, 2013 (PPI-OT): A meeting of the senior leadership of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) was held in Bilawal House Karachi today.

The meeting presided over by President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf, was attended by Chairman PPP Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Nazar Muhammad Gondal, Rana Farooq Saeed Khan, Syed Naved Qamar, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar, Senator Dr. A.Rehman Malik, Mian Manzoor Watto, Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani, Syed Khursheed Shah, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Senator Mian Raza Rabbani, Senator Jahangir Bader, Senator Sardar Ali Khan, Senator Farooq Naek, Ms. Sherry Rehman, Ms. Rukhsana Bangash, Ms. Fouzia Habib, Chaudhry Imtiaz Safdar Warraich and Spokesperson Senator Farhatullah Babar.

Spokesperson Senator Farhatullah Babar said that the meeting that lasted for over two hours discussed the current political situation in the country.

Noting that some elements were seeking to disrupt the electoral system and postpone the elections, the meeting reiterated the commitment of the government and the PPP to thwart any attempt to postpone elections.

The meeting made it clear that elections will be held on time as stipulated in the Constitution and no delay, even for a day, will be permitted on any pretext.

The meeting noted that if elections can be held in war torn and strife torn Afghanistan and Iraq, there was no reason that these could not be held in Pakistan on time as stipulated in the Constitution.

The meeting also decided to set up a four-member committee to talk with the political forces and also with the provincial government of Punjab on current situation with a view of holding timely elections in a transparent, free and fair manner and to confront any challenge to it. It said that no one will be permitted to deprive the people of their right to elect their representatives and choose their government.

The four-member committee comprises of Federal Minister Khursheed Shah, Senator Farooq Naek, Nazar Muhammad Gondal and Senator Mian Raza Rabbani.

Senator Farhatullah Babar said the meeting also expressed its determination to maintain law and order at all cost and to protect the life and property of citizens against any adventurism and under all circumstances.

For more information, contact:
Haji Ahmed Malik
Principal Information Officer
Press Information Department (PID)
Tel: +9251 925 2323 and +9251 925 2324
Fax: +9251 925 2325 and +9251 925 2326
Email: piopid@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top