Home / General / National Assembly Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs meets

National Assembly Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs meets

Islamabad, March 10, 2021 (PPI-OT): 11th meeting of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs was held today under the Chairmanship of Mr. Mujahid Ali, MNA in Committee Room No.7 (4th Floor), Parliament House, Islamabad. The meeting started with recitation from the Holy Quran and then the Committee decided to proceed with the agenda. The Committee unanimously approved the minutes of the previous meeting held on 29th January 2021.

The Committee considered “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Moved by Zaheer-ud-Din Babar Awan)”. At the very outset, Ch. Mehmood Bashir Virk, MNA objected that the Mover is Advisor to the Prime Minister hence he has no capacity to move the Bill. It was further pointed out that only Minister as defined in the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business on the National Assembly has the capacity to move Government Bill. He has also submitted his contentions in writing before the Committee. Keeping in view, the given circumstances; it is recommended by the Committee that the Minister for Law and Justice and the Mover be called in the next meeting to brief the Committee about the said issue to proceed further in the matter.

It was also observed by the Committee that it would be more appropriate to refer the matter to Parliamentary Committee comprising of the representatives of all the parties to deliberate and decide the issue. Minister for state initially committed to take up the matter with Hon. Speaker for the said issue. Subsequently, after detailed deliberations it was agreed by the Committee that the instant Committee is fully empowered to decide the matter under issue hence the representatives of all the parties shall discuss the matter internally within the parties; hence, the briefing on the given agenda was deferred till the next meeting.

The Committee considered “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Moved by Mr. Junaid Akbar MNA)”. After detailed deliberations, the Committee was of the unanimous opinion that the Bill may not be passed as it is in sheer disregard to the fundamental rights enshrined in the Constitution. Keeping in views, the opinion of the Committee, the mover preferred to withdraw the Bill. The Committee allowed withdrawing the same.

Hon. Members/MNAs/Movers Mr. Sher Ali Arbab, Ms. Rukhsana Naveed, Mst. Shaheen Naz Saifullah, Ms. Zill-e-Huma, Ms. Fouzia Behram, Ch. Mehmood Basir Virk, Mr. Mahesh Kumar Malani, Ms. Shams-un-Nisa, Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali, Mr. Junaid Akbar, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Secretary ECP and joint Secretary Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs along with their officers and staff attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top