Home / Misc. / National Assembly Standing Committee on Commerce meets today

National Assembly Standing Committee on Commerce meets today

Islamabad, March 09, 2015 (PPI-OT): A meeting of the standing committee on commerce held today at 1.00 pm in the conference hall of trade development authority of Pakistan (TDAP), 3rd floor, finance and trade centre, Shara-e -Faisal, block –A, Karachi, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Siraj Muhammad Khan, MNA to discuss the yearly performance review of TDAP and TCP.

The Chairman TCP apprised the Committee that the compliance has been made on the recommendations of the Committee like the composition of Board of Directors has been constituted for its three members from private sector and also the procedure for pre-qualification of the contractors for urea has been adopted on open bidding basis on the directions of PPRA, for which the PPRA rules are to be changed.

The Committee was also informed that the expected quantity of urea to arrive till April, 2015 is 374,897 MTs. The Committee also recommended that the cotton grower may be protected from the losses made due to the time difference in the different areas of country. The Chairman TCP, also informed the Committee that about 14-15 lakh cotton bales are present in the stock with TCP.

The CEO TDAP, informed the Committee that the Expo Pakistan-2015 was arranged for four days in the end of February, 2015 at Karachi. During this Expo about 1.3 billon US$ orders have been received from local and international market. The Committee recommended that the steps may be taken on the issue of separate business visa given to Pakistani business community for China and Hong Kong for first 15 days as it is done with other countries. The Committee took serious note on the import of sub-standard wheat from Ukraine and constituted a sub-committee to probe into this matter.

The meeting was attended by Ms. Tahira Aurangzeb, Ms. Shazia Marri, Ms. Mussarat Ahmed Zeb, Dr. Fouzia Hameed, Ms. Mehreen Razaque Bhutto, Mr. Sanjay Perwani, Mr. Nazir Ahmed Bughio, Mian Muhammad Rasheed and Mr. Muhammad Pervaiz Malik MNAs, beside senior officers from Ministry of Commerce, Chairman TCP and CEO TDAP also.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top