Home / Misc. / Meeting of National Assembly body on Water and Power held

Meeting of National Assembly body on Water and Power held

Islamabad, May 21, 2014 (PPI-OT): A meeting of the National Assembly’s Standing Committee on Water and Power was held under the Chairmanship of Mr. Muhammad Arshad Khan Laghari, MNA in Committee Room No.7, Parliament House, Islamabad today to discuss the following agenda.

i. Demand/ supply of DISCOs during the current year.

ii. Feeder-wise losses of the DISCOs.

iii. Urban and Rural Load-shedding schedule of the DISCOs.

iv. Current year and backlog of receivables of the DISCOs.

2. The Secretary, Ministry of Water and Power told the Committee that the load shedding in whole of the country has improved considerably, and that has been done on the specific directions of the Prime Minister; as additional gas and oil has been given to the power plants and IPPs in order to give relief to the masses.

3. Chief Executive Officers of all the DISCOs in the country briefed the Standing Committee about working of their respective distribution companies (DISCOs). The Committee was also told that 100% recovery has been made possible in Punjab and KPK provinces for the past one year and the recovery issue has also been taken with AJK, Government of Balochistan and Government of Sindh.

The Chairman and the members of the Standing Committee also asked the Minister for Water and Power to make himself available for the forthcoming meeting of the National Assembly to give his input on important matters.

The Standing Committee also directed that the schedule of load shedding must be displayed at the offices of all SDOs in all DISCOs and this schedule must also be given to Parliamentarians. The Committee also showed displeasure on the non cooperative attitude of officers in certain Governments Departments.

4. The meeting was attended by MNAs Malik Ihtebar Kan, Rana Afzaal Hussain, Rana Muhammad Ishaq Khan, Pir Muhammad Aslam Bodla, Nawab Muhammad Yousaf Talpur, dr. Mahreen Razaque Bhutto, Junaid Akbar, Rai Hassain Nawaz Khan, Syed Waseem Hussain, Syed Kazim Ali Shah, Mr. Abdul Rahim Khan Mandokhail, Sahibzada Muhammad Yaqub, Secretary, Ministry of Water and Power, CEOs of all DISCOs and other senior officers of the Ministry and its attached departments. The meeting adjourned with vote of thanks to and from the chair.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Parliament House, Islamabad
Tel: +9251 922 1082 -83
Fax: +9251 922 1106

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top