Home / Government Institutions / Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa constitutes Working Group for Energy and Power Deptt

Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa constitutes Working Group for Energy and Power Deptt

Peshawar, August 28, 2013 (PPI-OT): A working group for Energy and Power Department has been constituted to implement agenda of the provincial government in Energy and Power sector. The composition of the Working Group is as under: Sikandar Hayat Khan Sherpao, Senior Minister Energy and Power Deptt: is the Chairman, Syed Khalid Hussain Gillani, Secretary Energy and Power Deptt, is the Secretary/Member, while Bahadur Shah MD PHYDO, Raziuddin, Ex-MD OGDCL, Sohail Wajahat Siddique, Ex Minister Oil and Gas, Canadian Govt:, Azam Farooq, Member Board of OGDCL, Zarak Khan, Financial Expert, Syed Ishtaiq Hussain Shah (Ex-MD PHYDO), Latif Khan, (Chief Engineer PESCO Peshawar), Usman Haider (CEO, Cross-bay, Lahore), HD Bangash, Hydel Sector expert, Hamayatullah Khan (Special Secretary to President), Mohsin Aziz, Dr. Yousaf Sarwar, President Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chamber of Commerce, Usman Khattak, Chief Operating Officer Safe Energy, Shahbaz Khan, Director MOL Peshawar, Shahid Hamid, Vice Chairman AVT Media Group of Companies, Haji Ghufran, Ex-Senator, Sultan Muhammad MPA PK-18 Charsadda, Raza Khan, Jamaluddin, Economic Advisor, Hamayun Saifullah Khan, Ex-MNA and Khalid Aziz Ex Chief Secretary are members of the Working Group.

The Working Group will guide the provincial government for its energy security by all means like hydel, thermal, solar wind etc.

The TORs of the Working Group are as under: to guide provincial government about its role after 18th Amendment in Energy and Power Sector, to suggest steps to attract investors for development of hydro and hydrocarbon sectors of the province, to suggest steps required for fast track development of Hydel Development Action Plan 2010-21, to suggest steps for overcoming hurdles faced during development of the hydel projects on sites, to suggest restructuring of Energy and Power Deptt to meet the future challenges, to suggest and guide the provincial government towards transmission and distribution as well as demand side management of electricity, to suggest the way forward for taking back of idle potential hydel sites already leased to private investors, to suggest ways forward for implementation of hydel projects on PPP mode, to devise a detailed strategy for exploring alternate sources of energy, to suggest the way forward for starting KP-OGCL functional and its role in up-stream activities, to suggest role of KP-OGCL in existing Oil and Gas blocks, to suggest steps towards utilization of surplus gas in the province for power generation or urea fertilizer, to suggest steps towards fast track establishment of oil refinery, to suggest steps towards establishment of provincial office of inspection of OGRA, to suggest the modalities regarding sale of available power from provincial own hydel stations to industrial estates located in the province, to guide the provincial government for revision of hydel power policy 2006 in the light of 18th Amendment, to discuss ways for effective liaise with Federal Government for minimum loadshedding in both electricity as well as gas sector, to devise guidelines for framing energy conservation policy and building codes, to devise strategy and suggest ways and means to assist the task force to launch drive against gas pilferage in industries and domestic users, working group may constitute sub-group for various activities. Sub-group will forward their recommendations to working group within week time, says a notification issued by the Energy and Power Department Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

For more information, contact:
Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
Tel: 091 921 1789
Email: info@khyberpakhtunkhwa.gov.pk

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top