Home / General / Election Commission of Pakistan issues schedule for Local Government 4th Bye-Election

Election Commission of Pakistan issues schedule for Local Government 4th Bye-Election

Islamabad, June 13, 2016 (PPI-OT):The Election Commission of Pakistan is pleased to issue schedule for Local Government 4th Bye-Election to fill in the vacant General seats in Territorial Wards of District Councils, Town Council as well as different categories of seats in Neighbourhood / Village Council in the Province Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and calls upon the electors of council’s concerned to elect their representative from the attached list of local government institutions:

S.No                      Activity                                                                             Date

1       Notice inviting nomination papers to be issued by the Retuning Officer on                            14.6.2016

2       Nomination papers shall be received on                                                         15.6.2016 to 16.6.2016

3       Publication of notice of all the nomination papers received on                                       17.6.2016

4       Objection to the nomination papers                                                                   20.6.2016

5       Scrutiny of nomination papers and publication of names of validly nominated candidates on      21.6.2016 to 22.6.2016

6       Appeals against acceptance / rejection of nomination papers to be filed on                     23.6.2016 to 24.6.2016

7       Disposal of appeals on                                                                         27.6.2016 to 30.6.2016

8       Withdrawal of candidature and allotment of symbols on                                                 1.7.2016

9       Publication of list of contesting candidates with symbols allotted to them on                         4.7.2016

10      Polling day on                                                                                        18.7.2016
                                                                                                     (From 0800 Hrs to 1700 Hrs)

With a view to ensure that bye-election to the Local Government are conducted honestly, justly, fairly and in accordance with law and to ensure that the corrupt practices are guarded against, the Election Commission of Pakistan directs that:

i. All executive Authorities in the Federation and in the Provinces shall not use State Resources in Local Government bye-elections calculated to influence the elections in favour of a particular candidate or a political party.

ii. If any person in government service misuses his official position in any manner in order to influence results of elections, he shall be liable to be proceeded against under Section 100 of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Local Government Act, 2013.

iii. No Transfers / postings of the civil servants shall be made after the issuance of Schedule of Local Government Bye-Elections without prior approval of the Commission till the publication of election results.

iv. After the issuance of Election Schedule, the Prime Minister, Governor, Chief Minister, Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Federal and Provincial Ministers, Advisors to the Prime Minister or Chief Minister, District or Tehsil Nazim and Naib Nazim or any other holder of public office will not visit the area of any local council to announce any development scheme or to canvass or campaign for any candidate or any political party.

v. No Deputy Commissioner shall perform protocol duty with the Prime Minister, Chief Minister, Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Federal Ministers State Ministers, Provincial Ministers, Advisors to the Prime Ministers and Chief Minister or any person on their behalf till conclusion of the electoral process.

vi. Any holder of public office, who is found to have violated any provision of Election Laws or the instructions issued by the Election Commission shall be proceeded against as mandated in law.

Note: The offices of the Election Commission as well as the offices of District Returning Officers and Returning Officers shall remain open on all public holidays during the schedule period.

All electoral activities mentioned in the aforesaid schedule shall be undertaken during office hour (08:00 a.m. to 04:00 p.m.) and the said timing will also be followed on public holidays fixed for any electoral activity of the schedule.

For more information, contact:
Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)
Election Commission of Pakistan Secretariat,
Election House, Constitution Avenue G-5/2,
Tel: +92-51-9201975, +92-51-9206062
Fax: +92-51-9205402, +92-51-9205300
Website: www.ecp.gov.pk

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top