ECP to hold by-polls in one NA, three Punjab Assembly constituencies on Oct 9

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has decided to hold by-polls in one National Assembly and three Punjab Assembly constituencies on 9th of the next month.

The decision was taken at ECP’s meeting held in Islamabad on Monday with Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja in the chair.

These constituencies include NA-157 Multan, PP-139 Sheikhupura, PP-241 Bahawalnagar, and PP-209 Khanewal.

It is pertinent to mention that the commission had postponed the by-polls in 13 constituencies of the National and Provincial assemblies due to non-availability of police, Pakistan Army, Rangers, and FC personnel as they were busy in rescue and relief operations in the flood-hit areas.

The Election Commission expected that law enforcement personnel will be available to ensure peaceful and transparent elections in the above mentioned constituencies.

However, by-election in the remaining nine constituencies of the National Assembly will be held after seeking clarity from the Islamabad High Court that had set aside ECP’s notification of de-notifying National Assembly membership of these constituencies after one of the members filed a petition before the court.

Besides, the ECP has also sought report regarding the second phase of local bodies’ elections in Sindh and voting on various polling stations in Dukki, Loralai, Musakhel, and Mastung districts of Balochistan. The provincial governments of Sindh and Balochistan have been asked to submit a report within one week so that elections can be ensured in these areas at the earliest. In this regard, reports from the provincial election commissioners have also been sought.

Source: Radio Pakistan